words, worldly wisdoms & wanna-be photography

from the cd stack: those dancing days

As you probably know by now, I’m a great fan of indie music (and everything else indie, of course). And normally, I have a great interest at keeping this music indie – which means not spreading them to, like, everybody. But then again, they won’t get the attention and support they deserve and worked hard for in each country or in my example – in Switzerland. That’s why I usually recommend bands to maximum three different persons.

But a few weeks ago, I was sick and laid in bed almost all day long. It was incredibly annoying and the only thing that cheered me up was my music. In fact only one band. Listening to them made me so happy and cheerful that I just thought: “I have to recommend this.” They’re already quite famous by now – internationally, but they’re not all too known yet (I asked some people in my circle of friends and none of them knew this band). So this is “Those Dancing Days” for you:

It’s probably no surprise to you when I tell you that these girls are Swedish. Because, let’s face it, Sweden has emerged to one of the most musical talented countries. Remember? There are The Hives, Mando Diao, Shout Out Louds, Sugarplum Fairy… and I only mentioned a few of them. So it was really no surprise to me when I read that they were from Sweden.
And concerning the alternative music scene, I find it hard to find good girl bands. You know, there would be female singers or female guitarists or bassists, sometimes even drummers – but only one or two per band. Rarely in large groups. Which is sad, I think. Half of my iPod consists of bands consisting of a majority of males – and maybe one, maximum two females participating in it.
In my opinion, it shouldn’t be like this – I’m all for girl power and I was so, so happy to find this amazing band.

Those Dancing Days were founded in 2005 by drummer Cissi Efraimsson and guitarist Rebecka Rolfart. Gradually the other members – singer Linnea Jönsson, organist Lisa Pyk and bassist Mimmi Evrell – also came along and they started playing local gigs. Not long after they got their MySpace site – like any other band – and did a lot to get attention. It was in 2007, when they got their first gigs in Stockholm that they were discovered by a blogger and since then their career has been going on upwards.
One year later their debut album – In Our Space Hero Suits – was released and this year their second album brought out: Daydreams and Nightmares.

What I personally like about them is their attitude. Just by looking at their style, whether it is their album booklet, their videos or just themselves, I kind of get a total cheerful mood. I literally feel like dancing. It’s also in the way that they’re able to do good sad songs. I think, that it’s really difficult to write good sad songs. Normally, when someone writes a sad song, it consist of a sad lyrics and an unbearably slow melody (Well, of course this is just a generalisation. There are many people who don’t do it that way, but still, to me, you have to be talented to write a perfect sad song.). As a listener I often think: “Well, it’s not like I haven’t heard this before.” Those Dancing Days put some of their not so happy texts with the exact speed of melody – check out their song Actionman.
What I also like about them are their lyrics: Somehow they’re really touching because they seem (and surely are) very truthful; you can relate to them very easily without having them to use clichéd phrases. For example this passage from the song Hitten:

Slow down, please slow down
I need to find peace, anywhere in me
I feel like I’m under water
struggling to get air
I feel like I’m lost in this body
trying to get inside my head

You probably didn’t know before but I really, really like deep voices. I myself sing alto in our school choir and I prefer to listen to rather deep voices – and also one of the reason I love Those Dancing Days is surely Linnea Jönsson voice, which is really unique and catchy, I think.
So please check them out! They really do great music (and their videos are just so cute…) and are fantastic in any other way as well.

PS: Oh my. I feel like this post needs a lot of editing… I’m only writing shit tonight, sorry.

 

3 responses

  1. your biggest fan

    LOVE them. 🙂

    July 4, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad that at least someone got the message of this post… I’m sure it was very, very confusing and hard to read… my English is getting worse and worse everyday.

      July 4, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  2. your biggest fan

    no, not at all. I understood what you wanted to say. 😉
    First you have to look at mine, that’s horrible… ^^

    July 4, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Leave a Reply

