words, worldly wisdoms & wanna-be photography

from the cd stack: mighty oaks (BEDA #2)

Note: Because I started BEDA 3 days late, this post is going to be a “substitute” for my missing BEDA #2 entry.

MightyOaks

[photo: crop-out photo of the signed album I bought]

Time for another  music recommendation! I haven’t done one of those for a while now and when I went onto my categories list… I noticed that I’ve only done it once as part of my “from the cd stack”-series so far and only 2 other times all in all. (Proves again how rarely I post things around here.)

Today I’m going to introduce you to Mighty Oaks, which is a “Berlin-based indie-folk band”. They were founded in 2010 by their lead singer Ian Hooper and guitarist Claudio Donzelli. Later their bassist Craig Saunders joined the two founding members and completed the band. They’re now a three-man group from three different countries even: the USA, the UK and Italy.

So far they’ve only released one EP and that might be the reason why people outside of the scene probably haven’t heard of them yet.  I myself got to know them Sunday two weeks ago – Shout Out Louds are touring at the moment and a friend of mine gave me the tickets for their Swiss concert as a birthday present – and Mighty Oaks happened to be the supporting act for Shout Out Louds.

From the beginning on Mighty Oaks had me enraptured. I bought their EP later but when you’ve listened to them live, you’ll surely agree with me if I say that the EP is only narrowly a substitute for their live music. They are good. They are really, really good. Ian Hooper’s voice is amazing and the guitar playing is amazing and those guys are nice, funny people. In general, I’d describe their music as a rough-but-also-smooth voice paired with mood-brightening guitar tunes making you want to sway to them all day long.

Because I obviously have trouble expressing myself eloquently, let me write out two lists for you:

1.) Words I associate with Mighty Oaks’ music: green, wind, summer, spring, forest, trees, nature, road trip, morning, dawn, grass, meadows, earth, fun, happiness, smiles, heartache (of the good and the bad kind, I suppose), blue skies, gardens, breeze, bare feet, freedom

2.) You’ll probably like Mighty Oaks if…

  • you like indie music, folk music and optimally indie-folk music;
  • you like bands such as Mumford & Sons or Angus & Julia Stone;
  • you like music played mainly by guitars;
  • you like music which reminds you of words from the list above.

What do you think? Did I get you hooked on it? (I admit I’m terrible at selling things to people… but I have a possibly sprained ankle at the moment and it hurts and my head does too… excuse me for not thinking clearly right now and being so ineloquent.) If not (yet), you might want to listen to the two samples below (the second is my favourite):

http://vimeo.com/channels/mightyoaks/47501833

http://vimeo.com/channels/mightyoaks/47546727

I hope I could got some of you hooked on Mighty Oaks – they’re one of my favourite bands now and in most places still unknown, so I felt the need to spread their music out because in my opinion they surely deserved the support. I’m only afraid that I couldn’t give you more information – I didn’t have that many to begin with and I don’t like to analyze music before listening to at least a whole album of the artist and they have only their EP out… if you want some more information, you might want to check those links out:

http://www.mightyoaksmusic.com/#_

http://vimeo.com/channels/mightyoaks

Note: I’m sorry – somehow it’s not possible for me to embed the two video samples above. Just click on the link, it’ll redirect you to their vimeo pages. 

One response

  1. your biggest fan

    they’re so amazing! we have to see them again!:))

    April 5, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

